Clubs & Interest Groups

2015/2016 MSA Clubs and Interest Groups

Clubs and Interest Groups are student-run organizations that bring together medical students with similar interests and ideas. With 48 groups this year, there's no shortage of options! These groups host a wide range of activities and events around student health and wellness, education, the arts, advocacy, and other areas of interest.

Events and engagement are tailored to students in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. Check out our calendar to see a list of events, or you can request to join the email list of any of the clubs below. If you would like to become a member or find out more information about any specific Club or Interest Group, please email the group leader(s).

Have an idea for a club? New ideas are always welcome! Contact our VP Student Affairs, Marie DeCock, at msavpstudentaffairs@ualberta.ca for more information.

Clubs Policy

Clubs Presentation 2016


2015/2016 Clubs Guide


Group Name  Leader(s)  Contact 

More Information

The Arts
Courtyard Choir
Lucy Wang 
Jack Hong
zfwang@ualberta.ca
desheng@ualberta.ca
 Click Here 
French in Practice
Andrée Vincent
Francesca Seal
Amy Cook
aevincen@ualberta.ca
fseal@ualberta.ca
aecook@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Syncope Jazz Band
Kathleen Degner
Fangshi Lu
Hillary Gazie
kdegner@ualberta.ca
fangshi@ualberta.ca
gazie@ualberta.ca
 Click Here 
The Heart Chords  Catherine Kucey
Francesca Seal
Christina Shaw
kucey@ualberta.ca
fseal@ualberta.ca
shawbadr@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Medical Specialties and Areas of Interest
Anesthesia Club

Daman Goondi
Colton Lewis
Emma Hjartarson

dmanjit@ualberta.ca
crl@ualberta.ca
hjartars@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Cardiology Club
Chantal Loeppky
Kate Faulder
loeppky@ualberta.ca
faulder@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Neurosciences Club
Karl Narvacan
Mahabba Smoka
narvacan@ualberta.ca
smoka@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Clinical Skills Club
Cary Ma
Kinjal Patel
Cathy Wang
cary2@ualberta.ca
kinjal@ualberta.ca
ckwang@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Critical Care and Trauma Club
Jennifer Croden
Arezoo Ahmanadzadeh
Ghazal Danesh
jcroden@ualberta.ca
aahmadza@ualberta.ca

danesh@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Dermatology Club
Safia Nazarali
Brent Chambers
snazaral@ualberta.ca
dbchambe@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Emergency Medicine Club
Jamie Ward
David Tetrault
Amy Varner
jgward@ualberta.ca
dtetraul@ualberta.ca
varner@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Family Medicine Interest Group

Lucy Wang
Howie Wu

zfwang@ualberta.ca
howie1@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Geriatrics Club
Carly Yim
Namrata Hansraj
Christina Shaw
cyim2@ualberta.ca
hansraj@ualberta.ca
shawbadr@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Infectious Diseases and Tropical Medicine Club
Radhika Singh
Monica Chawla
radhika1@ualberta.ca
chawla@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Internal Medicine Club
Emma Hjartarson
Katie Yurkiw
Evelina Tijunelyte
hjartars@ualberta.ca
kayurkiw@ualberta.ca
tijunely@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Lab Medicine and Pathology Club
Chaitanya Gandhi
Harry Liu
Anton Savin
cgandhi@ualberta.ca
cl13@ualberta.ca
savin@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Medical Genetics Club

Jen Weekes
Renee Crawley

weekes@ualberta.ca
rcrawley@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Club
Paxton Ting
Kaitiln Thomas
Tessa Van Tol
ptting@ualberta.ca
knthomas@ualberta.ca
tvantol@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Ophthalmology Club
Natalia Binczyk
Jake Knowles
Zander Laurie
binczyk@ualberta.ca
jaknowle@ualberta.ca
alaurie@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery Interest Group
Jenny Yoon
Zander Laurie
jjyoon@ualberta.ca
alaurie@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Pediatric Club
Amy Varner
Paulina Podgorny
varner@ualberta.ca
ppodgorn@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Physical Exam Practice Club Marya Aman
Katherine Girgulis
Ahmed Gargoum
mhaman@ualberta.ca
girgulis@ualberta.ca
ahmohame@ualberta.ca

Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Interest Group
Sarah Henschke
Vedur Verma
Kevan Cave
shenschk@ualberta.ca
vedure@ualberta.ca
kevan@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Psychiatry Club
Jasmin Bal
Bailey Sorochan
Christine Patterson
jasmin1@ualberta.ca
so4@ualberta.ca
cp8@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Public Health Interest Group Shez Kassam
Zing-Wae Wong
shehzada@ualberta.ca
zingwae@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Pulmonology Club
Harry Liu
Tim He
cl13@ualberta.ca
xh@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Radiology Club
Kai Homer
Alexandra Roston
Jaasmit Khurana
khomer@ualberta.ca
roston@ualberta.ca
jaasmit@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Rural Medicine Interest Group

Renee Crawley
Jen Weekes
Brian Ficiur
Nicole Labine

rcrawley@ualberta.ca
weekes@ualberta.ca
ficiur@ualberta.ca
nlabine@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Space Medicine Club
Gregory Frick
Jonathan Hesje
gfrick@ualberta.ca
jhesje@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Sports Medicine Club
Caitlin Lee
Amy Cook
Caitlin Marchak
cmlee@ualberta.ca
aecook@ualberta.ca
marchak@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Surgery Club
Karl Narvacan
Shauna Regan
Kevin Verhoeff
narvacan@ualberta.ca
sregan@ualberta.ca
verhoeff@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Urology Club
Henry Wiebe
Meshach David
Nicolaus Weishaupt
hwwiebe@ualberta.ca
meshach@ualberta.ca
nicolaus@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Wilderness Medicine Club
Nathalie Kupfer
Kirsten Puznak
Christine Patterson
nkupfer@ualberta.ca
kmpuznak@ualberta.ca
cp8@ualberta.ca
Click Here 
Games and Sports
Board Game Club
Wade Coutino
Chaitanya Gandhi
Tim He
wcoutinh@ualberta.ca
cgandhi@ualberta.ca
xh@ualberta.ca
Click Here
Basketball Club
Monique Jarrett
Brian Ficiur
mjarrett@ualberta.ca
ficiur@ualberta.ca
Click Here
Climbing Club
Colton Lewis
Kaitlin Thomas
Matthew Siray
crl@ualberta.ca
knthomas@ualberta.ca
msiray@ualberta.ca
Click Here 
Curling Club
Graeme Rinholm
Matthew Siray
rinholm@ualberta.ca
msiray@ualberta.ca
Click Here 
Med/Dent Dance Club
Tania Luthra
Asha Varughese
tluthra@ualberta.ca
avarughe@ualberta.ca
Click Here
Hockey Club
Brent Chambers
David Tetrault
Evan Johnson
dbchambe@ualberta.ca
dtetraul@ualberta.ca
ewjohnso@ualberta.ca
Click Here 
Miscellaneous
Christian Medical and Dental Society
Levi Johnston
Kristin Pon
Mahabba Smoka
lajohnst@ualberta.ca
kristin1@ualberta.ca
smoka@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
STAR ACES Stefan Ceklic
Daniel Durham
Jonathan Besney
ceklic@ualberta.ca
ddurham@ualberta.ca
besney@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Friends of Medicins Sans Frontieres (MSF) Silken Stone-Jansen
Michael Bildersheim
stonejan@ualberta.ca
bildersh@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Interdisciplinary Health Club
Daman Goondi
Meshach David
damanjit@ualberta.ca
meshach@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Medical Students for Choice  Shauna Regan
Jennifer Croden
Bailey Sorochan
sregan@ualberta.ca
jcroden@ualberta.ca
so4@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Pre-clinical Exam Review Club
Cary Ma
Derek Eng
Ahmed Mourad
cary2@ualberta.ca
dme@ualberta.ca
amourad@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Research Interest Group Stone Li
Michael Taylor
shuai8@ualberta.ca
mjtaylor@ualberta.ca
 Click Here
Women in Medicine & Surgery Jenny Yoon
Rose Sun
Cathy Wang
jjyoon@ualberta.ca
doulin@ualberta.ca
ckwang@ualberta.ca
 Click Here